Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2024, we have our finalists!

Gepubliceerd op

The semi-finals of the Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2024, held this Monday and Tuesday on the 8th and 9th of April, showcased the impressive talent of musicians from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam (CvA) Jazz Department. Out of 33 applicants, 10 semi-finalists emerged, with two CvA bands securing their place in the finale scheduled for April 18th at the BIMHUIS.

The Keep an Eye Jazz International Award is an annual competition showcasing exceptional talent from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam and select institutions in the United States and Europe. The theme for this 14th edition is Carla Bley; each band arranges and performs their interpretation of one of seven selected pieces by the American jazz pianist and composer. Participants have the chance to win substantial prizes that can significantly advance their careers.

This year’s participating schools are The School of Jazz & Contemporary Music at the New School, New York; Boyer College of Music & Dance, Philadelphia; University of Music and Performing Arts, Graz;  Musikene, San Sebastián and the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.

The Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2024 is made possible by the Keep an Eye Foundation in collaboration with the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.

The finalists will go to the international final on 18th April at the BIMHUIS and receive a cash prize of €1250. There was also an Incentive Prize awarded, which included a cash prize of €750. 

We won’t keep you longer in suspense! Below you can find the finalists and the winners of the Incentive Prize.


Alice Leggett & Chaerin Im *Orchestra* 
Alice Leggett – alto saxophone  
Ask Morris – tenor saxophone  
Chaerin Im – piano, synths  
Matteo Mazzù – bass guitar
Pedro Nobre – drums 

Sonic Choir of Love  
Ketija Ringa Karahona – flute 
Micheal Murray – alto sax
Miguel Valente – alto sax  

Adrían Bifano – guitar 
Francisco Garrido – guitar 
Heehyun Lee – guitar 
Samuel Kiel – double bass 
Ludvig Søndergaard - drums 

Incentive Prize

The Rabbits  
Carolina Gemmell – vocal  
Ori Ron – cello  
Flavia Escartin – cello 
David Saruchanov – piano 

Congratulations to the finalists and participants, and a big thank you to the Keep an Eye Foundation and our jury; Reinier Baas, Kika Sprangers, Sylvi Lane, Franz von Chossy, Angelique van Os and Joachim Junghanss (chairman).

Please click here to find out more about the final on April 18th. Entrance is free, but please note doors open at7pm and we strongly advise you to be there well on time, as we are expecting it to be a full house!  

Photo by Veerle Bas