Bart Fermie

Bart Fermie began his versatile musical career by founding Small Talk, a Dutch latin jazz band. He studied Cuban and Brazilian percussion in New York, Havana, and Amsterdam, toured and recorded or appeared on television with well over 120 artists and bands, playing pop, Brazilian, Cuban, jazz, flamenco, Portuguese, world music, jazz-rock, and latin jazz.

Bart Fermie has collaborated on CD’s, TV or on stage with international artists like Van Dyke Parks, Leonardo Amuedo & Antonio Serrano, Angelique Kidjo, Atongo Zimba, Babaa Maal, Ernest Ranglin, George Duke, Randy Crawford, Bobby Durham, Mory Kante, Richard Galliano, Horacio ‘El Negro’ Hernandez, Richie Flores, The Metropole Orchestra, The Brussels Jazz Orchestra, The Danish Radio Orchestra, Maria Schneider, Ivan Lins, Toots Thielemans, Frank McComb, Gino Vannelli, Branford Marsalis and Deborah Brown. Bart played percussion for the Ivan Lins CD ‘Intimate’ released in 2010 with guests like Till Broenner, Jane Monheit and Trijntje Oosterhuis.

Some of the Dutch-based artists Bart performed with are Batida, Boi Akih, Denise Jannah, Cor, Bakker, Chris Hinze, Jan Akkerman, Astrid Seriese, Hennie Vrienten, Josee Koning, Francien van Tuinen, Jesse van Ruller, Michiel Borstlap, Yuri Honing, Toon Roos, Amina Figarova, Bert van den Brink, Tineke Postma, Ack van Rooyen a.o. 3HandsClapping is Bart's trio with Peter Tiehuis on guitar and Theo de Jong on bass. Fermie has toured theatres and festivals in Europe, Asia, The United States and the Carribeans.

Bart's inventions are called: Patum, Flat-Timbale, Round Rainmaker, Shakerine, Mini-Shakerine, MIPA Award 2001 winner Mini-Ganzeiro, Ganzeiro, Ago-Sha Double, Ago-Sha Hi, Ago-Sha Lo, Agogo-Pop, Tang Tang, Pandanza, Shakelets and his Cajon Brush.

Bart Fermie teaches percussion, didactics and ensembles at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam and the Rotterdam Conservatory. He has been a guest teacher at the conservatories of Utrecht, Maastricht, Alkmaar, Enschede, Zwolle. Bart taught percussion workshops in Germany, Poland, Switzerland, Austria, the Netherlands, UK, Belgium and The Dutch Antilles.