Jury Prize for The Fried Seven at Karel Van Eerd Music Award

Photo by Eddy Westveer

Published on

The Fried Seven has won the Jury Prize at the first edition of the Karel Van Eerd Music Award (KVEMA). The Karel van Eerd Music Award is an international festival and competition, and the Jury Prize is a special incentive award with a ticket to the final of the next edition of KVEMA.

The members of The Fried Seven are Pablo Castillo, trumpet, cornet; Matteo Paggi, trombone; Cem Karayalcin, banjo, guitar; MartĂ­ Mitjavila, clarinet, tenor saxophone; Pepijn Mouwen, clarinet, alto saxophone; Simon Osuna, double bass, and Carlos Ayuso, drums. The band takes inspiration from New Orleans bands and the swing era, playing a repertoire ranging from Louis Armstrong’s work from the 1920s to Duke Ellington compositions and original arrangements.