Dominique Vleeshouwers wins Dutch Music Prize 2019

Photo by Roy Overdijk

Published on

Percussionist Dominique Vleeshouwers has won the Dutch Music Prize 2019. The Dutch Music Prize is the highest award in the Netherlands in the field of classical music, and is awarded by the Ministry of Culture. Dominique is the first percussionist to win this prestigious award. He will receive the prize on 18 January 2020 at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam.

Dominique Vleeshouwers is a Conservatorium van Amsterdam alumnus; he graduated from the bachelor’s degree programme in 2013 and the master’s degree programme in 2015. His final exam concert ‘Kindsoldaat’ was awarded the Graduation Prize 2013 of Amsterdam University of the Arts. In 2014 he won first prize, the press prize and the audience prize at the international Tromp competition for percussion.

Previous CvA alumni to win the Dutch Music Prize are Liza Ferschtman and Maria Milstein, violin; Rick Stotijn, double bass; Lavinia Meijer and Remy van Kesteren, harp; Ties Mellema, saxophone; Erik Bosgraaf, recorder; Hannes Minnaar, piano, and vocalists Christianne Stotijn en Henk Neven.