Expression of Art Award

Sunday 28 April 2019, 11:30 - 13:00 hrs.
Conservatorium Hotel
Van Baerlestraat 27
1071 AN Amsterdam


Ben Fitzpatrick Quartet 
Ben Fitzpatrick – alto saxophone
Tommaso Perazzo – piano
Jort Terwijn – double bass
Marcello Cardillo - drums

The Ben Fitzpatrick Quartet is a group featuring some of the rising stars of jazz from around the world. Their leader Ben FItzpatrick comes from Dublin, Ireland and has developed a name from himself not only in Europe, but America as well.
He has performed with numerous world renowned artists such as Wynton Marsalis, Jimmy Heath, Ken Peplowski, Sean Jones, Vincent Gardner, Steve Wilson and Jimmy Greene just to name a few.

All the way from Genova, Italy, Tommaso Perazzo brings a whole new concept to jazz piano playing. His virtuosic playing has made him one of the most sought after pianists on the scene today.

Jort Terwijn, a local of the Netherlands, plays with soul and integrity. His playing is honest and every note he plays tells a story. Last but not least, Marcello Cardillo the drummer from Naples, Italy has a fiery way of playing and robust sound on his instrument. He plays with soul, intellect and pure feeling.

If you come by to hear this quartet play, expect a full well-rounded jazz experience. You will be able to experience a soulful, fun and groovy performance soaked in the tradition of the music, but also in search of something new. This group will be sure to have you tapping your feet and grooving all night long.

In samenwerking met het Conservatorium van Amsterdam organiseert het Conservatorium Hotel de komende maanden weer de Expression of Art Award. Vier bands van het Conservatorium van Amsterdam krijgen de kans om € 5000,- te winnen, te besteden aan hun verdere muzikale ontwikkeling.

Het Expression of Art Award-project bestaat uit een reeks van vijf concerten. De aftrap wordt op 27 januari gegeven door het Ian Cleaver Quartet (foto), gevolgd door het Stan van de Wetering Quartet op 24 februari, Forest Light op 31 maart en het Ben Fitzpatrick Quartet op 28 april. Tijdens de finale op 26 mei verkiest de jury, bestaande uit Edo Righini, adjunct-directeur en hoofd Jazz van het CvA; saxofonist Jasper Blom en gitarist Reinier Baas, een winnaar.

Alle concerten vinden plaats in de Symphony Room van het hotel en beginnen om 11.30 uur.