Classical - Lunch concert ft. SEPTimental Ensemble

donderdag 30 maart 2023, 12:30 - 13:30 uur
Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Piet Heinkade 1
1019 BR Amsterdam

Lunch Concert with SEPTimental Ensemble. SEPTImental Ensemble is: Serguei Milstein, violin; Sunniva Skaug, viola; Thomas Laricheliere-Banken, cello; Iago López, double bass; Jaime Peña, clarinet; Guillermo Núñez, horn; Konstantin Simon, bassoon 
Arie van Hoek, Dahnsdorf (6 minutes) 

L. van Beethoven, Septet op. 20 (43 minutes) 

  1. Adagio – Allegro con brio 

  1. Adagio cantabile 

  1. Tempo di menuetto  

  1. Tema con variazioni: Andante  

  1. Scherzo: Allegro molto e vivace  

  1. Andante con moto alla marcia – Presto  

Encore - Piazzola, Adios Nonino (3 minutes) 

About the programme
Beethoven's Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20, is a chamber music composition for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello and double bass. It was written in 1799 and premiered in Vienna the following year. The septet is considered one of Beethoven's most successful early works, and it helped establish his reputation as a composer. The work is in six movements, including a fast-paced Allegretto scherzando, a slow Adagio, and a lively and virtuosic final Presto. The septet is notable for its inventive use of the instruments, as well as its balance of virtuosity and lyricism. It is still widely performed today and is considered a staple of the chamber music repertoire. 
“Dahnsdorf” is a piece in modern style by Dutch composer Arie van Hoek. It showcases the contrasting timbres in the Septet formation, allowing the interpreters to find new sound colors.  

Info & Tickets